• Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings are the most successful team in IPL history with five titles apiece

  • Chennai were crowned IPL winners in 2023.

  • The IPL is one of the biggest cricket competitions on the planet.

The IPL is one of the premier events in the cricket betting calendar. Any early scepticism about the seriousness of the competition has disappeared. The tournament has been lucrative for multiple generations of players, and the crowds keep coming back. 

With a packed schedule and many of the biggest stars taking part, tens of millions tune into the IPL every year. It is a chance for players to make their name, and potentially earn huge sums at other T20 tournaments around the world.

Let’s take a look at the full IPL winners list and a bit of history about the competition…

IPL Winners List

  • 2008 IPL Champions – Rajasthan Royals 

  • 2009 IPL Champions – Deccan Chargers

  • 2010 IPL Champions – Chennai Super Kings

  • 2011 IPL Champions – Chennai Super Kings

  • 2012 IPL Champions – Kolkata Knight Riders

  • 2013 IPL Champions – Mumbai Indians

  • 2014 IPL Champions – Kolkata Knight Riders

  • 2015 IPL Champions – Mumbai Indians

  • 2016 IPL Champions – Sunrisers Hyderabad

  • 2017 IPL Champions – Mumbai Indians

  • 2018 IPL Champions – Chennai Super Kings

  • 2019 IPL Champions – Mumbai Indians

  • 2020 IPL Champions – Mumbai Indians

  • 2021 IPL Champions – Chennai Super Kings

  • 2022 IPL Champions – Gujarat Titans

  • 2023 IPL Champions – Chennai Super Kings

When Was IPL Formed?

The Indian Premier League was first announced in September 2007. The BCCI introduced the competition and said there was due to be a ‘high-profile ceremony’ in New Delhi in April of the following year.

Lalit Modi was considered to be the driving force of the IPL. Modi announced the details of the competition, including the seven-man panel which would run the competition, featuring former India players and BCCI executives.

Modi, speaking during the league’s launch, said, “The IPL has been designed to entice an entire new generation of sports fans into the grounds throughout the country.

Calculator for bets

"The dynamic Twenty20 format has been designed to attract a young fan base, which also includes women and children."

In January 2008, an auction took place to decide the owners of the new teams. The base prices came to around $400 million, but they eventually sold for a total over $700 million.

The winning bidders were made public knowledge at the same time as the cities. Mumbai, Mohali, Kolkata, Jaipur, Hyderabad, Delhi, Chennai and Bangalore all had teams in the first season of the IPL.

Most Successful IPL Team

The Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians are tied for the honour of most successful IPL team with five titles apiece.

Chennai have also been runners up on five occasions, while Mumbai have only lost one final, which happened to be against the Super Kings back in 2010.

Chennai and Mumbai have been perennial contenders in IPL betting. Only four finals in IPL history have not involved the Super Kings or Indians – they met in the 2010, 2015 and 2019 finals.

In the small sample size of just two seasons, the Gujarat Titans’ 70% win rate is the best in IPL history.

f long-serving teams, the Super Kings have the edge with a 59% win rate, while the Mumbai Indians have won the most total matches with 138.

IPL Winners 2023

The Chennai Super Kings were the IPL 2023 winners after defeating the Gujarat Titans by five wickets on the DLS method in the final.

Shubman Gill was named Player of the Tournament, becoming just the second Indian to win the award since 2016. 

The triumph moved Chennai level with the Mumbai Indians on five titles. The Super Kings hold numerous IPL records, and have a stacked squad led by the incomparable MS Dhoni.

Football Prediction tips at 888sport

The Super Kings have added New Zealand phenom Rachin Ravindra and all-rounder Daryl Mitchell for the 2024 season, joining compatriots Devon Conway and Mitchell Santner on the roster.

Chennai lost two of their first four matches in 2023, but found their groove at the right time to qualify for the Playoffs.

In a DLS run chase, Conway top scored with 47 off 25 balls as the Super Kings got to their required score with five wickets in hand. 

How to Watch IPL

The IPL secured a record-breaking broadcast rights deal in 2022, putting it alongside the NFL and Premier League in revenue per match.

Fans in the UK can watch the IPL on Sky Sports or DAZN – Sky Sports broadcasts are also accessible through NOW TV’s app. 

Jay Shah, secretary of the BCCI at the time of the deal, said, "Now, it's time for our state associations, IPL franchises to work together with the IPL to enhance the fan experience and ensure that our biggest stakeholder - the cricket fan - is well looked after."

The 2023 IPL final set a record for the most concurrent viewers of a live streamed event, breaking a record set by the 2019 Cricket World Cup final.

Television audiences for the IPL remain massive, and that doesn’t look like changing despite competition from similar tournaments all over the world. 

Best IPL Players

The most expensive IPL players will make headlines, but like in other sports, big spending does not always equate to success.

Costly overseas signings like Jos Buttler, Rashid Khan, Andre Russell and Sunil Narine have all delivered sizeable IPL contributions, however.

Many records are in the hands of Indian players. MS Dhoni has played the most games, Virat Kohli has scored the most runs, and Yuzvendra Chalal has the most wickets across his stints with the Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Rajasthan Royals.

New players excel each season in the IPL. While stars like Kohli and Chalal are consistent performers, both veterans and youngsters will put up impressive statistics.

For instance, Yashasvi Jaiswal and Faf du Plessis were among the top scorers in 2023. Gujarat Titans batter Shubman Gill picked up a collection of awards at just 23 years of age. 

There are bound to be some breakout performers every year. Some players will miss out through injury, while international duty can limit the availability of some of the biggest stars (particularly England players).

*Credit for the main photo belongs to Tsering Topgyal / AP Photo*

Sam is a sports tipster, specialising in the Premier League and Champions League.

He covers most sports, including cricket and Formula One. Sam particularly enjoys those on the other side of the Atlantic Ocean – notably MLB and NBA.

Watching, writing and talking about sports betting takes up most of his time, whether that is for a day out at T20 Finals Day or a long night of basketball.

Having been writing for several years, Sam has been working with 888Sport since 2016, contributing multiple articles per week to the blog.