First run in 1840, the Queen Anne Stakes is a Group 1 race open to horses aged four years or older and is run over one mile.

The race takes place on the opening day of the Royal Ascot meeting and is one of the more lucrative races on the British Flat Racing calendar.

There are always plenty of Royal Ascot tips available for the Queen Anne in the betting columns.

Originally a Group 3, the contest was upgraded in 1984 to a Group 2 before being upgraded again in 2003 to a Group 1 when it also changed from a 3-y-o+ affair to a 4-y-o+.

Any fillies and mares that enter get a 3lb allowance whilst any 4-y-o runners from the Southern Hemisphere (Australia, Japan etc) get a 1lb allowance.

When the Queen Anne Stakes was established in 1840, it was originally known as the Trial Stakes. It wasn’t until 1930 that the name of this event was changed.

The race name now honours Queen Anne, who was the monarch that introduced horse racing to Ascot area in the early 19th century.

Since Flambeu won the very first race in 1840, several great horses, trainers, and jockeys have graced the Queen Anne stakes honours board.

  • Sir Gordon Richards and Frankie Dettori were both tied on 6 winners apiece until 2021 when Dettori moved to 7 wins after victory aboard Palace Pier. Dettori’s other winners were: Markofdistinction (1990), Allied Forces (1997), Intikhab (1998), Dubai Destination (2003), Refuse to Bend (2004), Ramonti (2007).

  • The most successful trainer for this event is Saeed bin Suroor with 7 wins: Charnwood Forest (1996), Allied Forces (1997), Intikhab (1998), Cape Cross (1999), Dubai Destination (2003), Refuse to Bend (2004), Ramonti (2007).

  • The leading owners are Godolphin Stud with 8 titles: Charnwood Forest (1996), Allied Forces (1997), Intikhab (1998), Cape Cross (1999), Dubai Destination (2003), Refuse to Bend (2004), Ramonti (2007), Ribchester (2017).

  • In its entire history, no thoroughbred has won the Queen Anne more than twice. Only these four horses have won more than once: Flambeu (1840-1841), Toastmaster (1885-1886), Worchester (1895-1896), and Dean Swift (1906-1907).

The top three quickest Queen Anne’s over the last 20 years are:

  • 2017 - Ribchester (1:36.60)

  • 2005 - Valixir (1:36.64)

  • 2007 - Ramonti (1:37.21)

Queen Anne Stakes Winners

  • 2021 - Palace Pier 2/7f Frankie Dettori/John & Thady Gosden

  • 2020 - Circus Maximus 4/1f Ryan Moore/A P O'Brien

  • 2019 - Lord Glitters 14/1 Daniel Tudhope/David O'Meara

  • 2018 - Accidental Agent 33/1 Charles Bishop Eve Johnson Houghton

  • 2017 - Ribchester 11/10f William Buick/Richard Fahey

  • 2016 - Tepin 11/2 Julien R Leparoux/Mark Casse

  • 2015 - Sollow 11/8f Maxime Guyon/Freddie Head

  • 2014 - Toronado 4/5f Richard Hughes/Richard Hannon

  • 2013 - Declaration Of War 15/2 Joseph O'Brien/A P O'Brien

  • 2012 - Frankel 1/10f Tom Queally/Sir Henry Cecil

  • Age: 7 of the last 10 winners were aged 4.

  • Starting Price: 6 of the last 10 winners have been sent off as the favourite, 8/10 winners have come from the top three in the betting.

  • Last time out: 6/10 winners won on their previous run before the Queen Anne Stakes, 10/10 winners ran within the last 31 days. 6/10 winners ran in the Lockinge Stakes on their last run, 4 of the 7 won, 0 placed.

  • Course Form: 7/10 winners had at least one previous run at Ascot, 7/7 had a previous win at Ascot. Check out previous Royal Ascot results here.

  • Distance Form: 10/10 winners had at least 4 previous runs over a mile, 9/10 winners had at least one previous win over a mile, 10/10 winners had at least two previous wins over a mile.

  • Flat Form: 10/10 winners had at least 8 previous flat runs, 10/10 had at least 4 previous flat victories.

  • Rating: 9/10 winners had a rating of 112 or higher.

  • Group 1 Wins: 9/10 winners had at least one previous win in a Group 1 race.

  • Group 2 Wins: 7/10 winners had at least one previous win in a Group 2 race.

  • Season Form: 10/10 winners had at least one run that season, 7/10 winners had at least one win that season.

Queen Anne Stakes Trainers

The leading trainer in the Queen Anne Stakes over the last 20 years is Aidan O’Brien who has saddled the winner four times.

Those winners were Ad Valorem (2006), Haradasun (2008), Declaration Of War (2013) and Circus Maximus (2020).

The only other trainer to have registered multiple wins in the Queen Anne is Saeed bin Suroor (3 wins in the last 20 years, 7 wins in total).

Sir Michael Stoute, David O'Meara, Richard Hannon, Eve Johnson Houghton, Andre Fabre, Mark Casse, Richard Fahey and John & Thady Gosden have all had runners but produced only a single winner each.

Queen Anne Stakes Jockeys

The leading jockey in the Queen Anne Stakes over the last 20 years is Frankie Dettori who has lifted the silverware four times.

His winners since the turn of the millennium have been Dubai Destination (2003), Refuse To Bend (2004), Ramonti (2007) and Palace Pier (2021).

One jockey on the Queen Anne cold list is Jamie Spencer who has ridden in the race twelve times without enjoying any success.

Queen Anne Stake Future Winners

4 of the last 10 winners won on their next run after the Queen Anne Stakes so it is well worth following the form of this race going forward.

Many opt for the Sussex Stakes at Goodwood for their next run, so punters should check out the antepost markets as soon as they are compiled.

Queen Anne Stakes Starting Prices

If you are a favourite backer you will find that the market leader has obliged a total of 7 times in the last 20 renewals.

Horses from the top three in the online horse racing betting have had the most success except for 2018 when Accidental Agent won at 33/1, and the following year Lord Glitters went in at 14/1.

Those are the only two betting upsets in this last 20 year period.



Steven is a sports and horse racing enthusiast and is a member of the Horseracing Writers and Photographers Association (HWPA) in the United Kingdom.

He is a regular visitor to Paris Longchamp for the Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe and a lifelong fan of the Aintree Grand National, a subject he writes about 52 weeks of the year. Last year he reached the impressive milestone of attending the last 30 renewals of the Grand National.